Mug Wisdom

I cut my finger washing the dishes last night. It was my favorite mug, an authentic Ahwahnee Hotel in Yosemite coffee mug. I picked it up and the handle came right off and as the main cup fell it sliced my thumb pretty deeply. As the blood poured out of my finger and dripped into the sink all I could think about was my precious broken mug…

As I was laying on the couch clamping a vice-like grip around my thumb with a paper towel and breathing deeply to keep from passing out, I thought- Why was I so concerned about my mug when my finger was cut and bleeding everywhere? It’s a mug.

Our material possessions can be just one of so many things that can be so blinding to our true needs. As a follower of Christ, I struggle daily with the concept of dying to myself and seeking His will for my life above my own, especially when there are so many distractions around me.

What distractions/things get in the way of an authentic pursuit of Jesus in your life?

Leave a Reply

